Month: August 2013

  • My Walking Monument

     

    Joshua 4:20-24 

     And Joshua set up at Gilgal the twelve stonesthey had taken out of the Jordan.  He said to the Israelites, “In the future when your descendants ask their fathers, ‘What do these stones mean?’  tell them, ‘Israel crossed the Jordan on dry ground.’  For the LORD your God dried up the Jordan before you until you had crossed over. The LORD your God did to the Jordan just what he had done to the Red Sea when he dried it up before us until we had crossed over.  He did this so that all the peoples of the earth might know that the hand of the LORD is powerful and so that you might always fear the LORD your God.

    Six weeks before JD moved to Boston, my second nephew, Graham, was born. He spent a week in NICU, my sister spent a week or so in and out of the hospital and I spent a lot of time with Graham. He was a welcome distraction that nightmarish August, and when JD left, I spent even more time at Kyle and Joey’s apartment helping with Graham and Max. As I watch Graham grow, I am reminded of when the Israelites built a monument to remember the ways God provided and guided them I get to watch one of my monuments to God’s grace walk around everyday. 

     My walking monument turns two this week. Two! When I see him, growing and laughing and running around, I am reminded of the things God has done for me during his short life. When my marriage ended, a huge part of me was torn open. God used Graham’s love and his joy as a salve for this weary heart. With each milestone or birthday Graham celebrates, I celebrate too.  I celebrate the healing that has occurred in my heart. I celebrate the laughter that I never thought would come again. I celebrate the goodness of Christ. 

    It has been a beautiful two years. It truly has. I don’t know that I could have said that a year ago, but on Saturday, as we celebrated two years of having Graham, I realized just how precious these years have been. 

    God is so good. His healing is full, warm, joyous, and worthy of all of me. Graham has helped me heal in ways he will never know. And I am excited to watch him grow, knowing that each passing year will be a reminder of the years of blessings the Lord has brought. 

  • New Years Resolutions…revisited

    Six/Seven months (ish) ago, I posted my New Year’s Resolutions, and I was reading over them, as I do with many goals to see how far I have come and what still needs to be done, and I decided to update where I was with my lofty goals.

    So, I have accomplished the following resolutions:

    1. I did something different with my hair. I cut bangs. I regretted it. To they always seem like a good idea, and then they are there, and you have to buy clips to pin them back and figure out what to do with them and it’s just never as Zooey Daschanel as I want.

    2. I went on a date. It was fun. The guy turned out to be a toolbag, but at least I got my feet wet. This being said, if you know any single, Godly men, who happen to be attractive/funny/smart, give them my number (I’m serious here). Unless they are weird or smell. Then, no thanks.

    3. I got a library card. And I used the heck out of it.

    I have not accomplished the following goals yet:

    1. I have not eaten a hamburger.

    2. I have not cussed less. I have remained steady in my use of salty language, so as long as it’s not increasing, I’m cool.

    3. I have only sang Karaoke 2 times. I have three slots to fill, so let’s get on that, friends!

    4. I have not run a marathon. I have signed up for the Dallas Marathon in December, however. So I’m half-way there.

    5. I have not memorized ten Bible verses. I will not beat myself up about this, however, because I still love Jesus. And He still loves me.

    The first half of 2013 has been really good. I have been stretched and grown and had to do a lot of things that scared me, but in my fear, God is there. He has met me and led me and helped me to continue to grow to be a woman who glorifies Him. I am excited to see how the next half (ish) of the year goes. It should be exciting as it will bring moving to Lewisville, my first full year of teaching in Grand Prairie, and other fun stuff. Here’s to the rest of 2013! And, I’m still wanting to go on a date with Ryan Gosselin, so, you know, I’m just throwing that out there.