March 26, 2011

  • Jd’s Health and some questions I have…

    Jd and I visited the doctor on Wednesday. The amazing staff of the Village Church and, more importantly, God brought us into contact with Chris Berry at Baylor’s Family Medical Clinic in Dallas. This clinic is a charity of Baylor that sees those of us who cannot afford medical care, and we paid a co-pay of $10. God’s providence in this was obvious in many ways, as Dr. Berry is a doctor who is dedicated to missions and has visited our beloved Honduras on medical missions. He even has a friend who has a medical outreach in one of the coastal cities of Honduras. 

    Those who know me know that I tend to jump to the worst possible conclusion when anything happens. Dr. Berry was very understanding when I explained to him that Jd probably has a huge tumor in his head and his head is going to shrivel up and fall off. He looked at JD, asked very thorough questions about his history, did a typical neurological exam and reassured me that JD did not have cancer. He gave Jd a new prescription for migraines and a new prescription for preventative care. He advised JD to see his neurologist as soon as our insurance kicks in. 

    It was a great doctors appointment. No cancer, no tumors, nothing serious. Which leads me to the question that weighs on my heart and mind most of the time…

    What is God doing?

    Why did He bring us back to the US?

    What are these migraines about?

    What is going on?

    So, I am overwhelmed. I feel like I am grieving the passing of a friend that no one else knew. I cry almost daily, and yet, I feel no one understands.

    What is God doing? 

Comments (4)

  • Kacy- it must be so hard.  I too often wonder why God does what He does. Often I dont like what He does. Sometimes I hate it. That makes me sad.  Glad to hear God provided for you so clearly with the doctor situation. Unsolicited and probably unwanted advice= enjoy your time her daily and try not to long for where you are not. Andra

  • It’s so good to hear that everything is going well physically with JD!!  And Kacy…it’s so okay to cry…even if you don’t understand why you are doing it.  Honestly, sometimes I think it’s wonderful to do that. Because the Holy Spirit lives in you, HE is crying out to the Father for you (Galations 4:6).  Be encouraged knowing that God truly is in control. He knows what he’s doing.  I have gone through so many questions with God…especially since I’ve been here in Honduras, and the one thing that has given me peace over and over again is knowing that God is GOOD.  God is GOOD.  He is working something beautiful in your lives because you are HIS.  Let me leave you with Philippians 4:6-7, a passage that has encouraged me through many situations.

    “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. ”

  • Oh, I don’t know what He is doing Kacy, but I’ll help pray you through it.  I’ve only read a few of your posts so far but you’ve already touched my heart.  I’ll be praying for your husband as well.

  • I like all information that you provide in your articles.
    Get More Info

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *