March 28, 2011

  • It’s my Birthday!!!!!!

    Today, March 28, 2011 is my 27th birthday. While I am missing my dear friends in Honduras, my cute as heck students, and my cat, I am seeing God’s gifts in the things that are happening here. 

    Friday, Jd threw me a surprise dinner. We met friends at Jason’s Deli and enjoyed a lovely bowl of soup and some salad. There are two things you should know about me…I hate surprises, and I hate surprises. I cried that day because I was feeling so overwhelmed, so overwhelmed that I almost called to cancel dinner. So, I was not in the happiest of moods that evening, and if I say I don’t want a birthday party, I don’t want one.  I promise.

    On Saturday, we spent the morning and early afternoon at my dad’s, riding the four wheeler, looking at the new baby zebra down the street, and jumping on the trampoline. After that, I went to Target and purchased a new pair of new pants and a new shirt with a gift card I got for my birthday. We also found out that we are getting about $1500 back from taxes, praise God. That night I helped my sister make something for her wedding, well, she made it and I wrote the message because she has shady handwriting. Then, I went to bed, at nine. It was glorious.

    On Sunday, Jd and I went to Village Denton. I cried through the whole service. They introduced 22 new babies, and I cried. Then I cried because I am just feeling a little lost, things aren’t where I planned for them to be. So I cried for some babies, cried because I saw friends, cried because I missed Honduras. Later that afternoon, feeling better, I celebrated my birthday with my family. Amy, Jared, Max, Kyle, Joey, Mom and Scoots were there. It was nice to be home with them. I was thrilled to open my target gift cards because I sold my belongings to move to Honduras, and I might need some more once we find a place to live. 

    Today, Jd started back at work. I had to drive him because we only have one car, but that’s cool because while he was at work, I went back to my old job and re-applied. The Center for Autism is now part of Easter Seals North Texas, which means better pay and benefits. While I won’t need the benefits, the better pay will really be grand. Once I pass the drug test and background check, I should be good to go. 

    God has blessed us tremendously in that we were loved in our previous employment, they both had job openings, and they both wanted us back and were happy to see us. So, while I may not have had a pinata this year for my birthday, I can say that God has blessed me in my 26th year, and I am interested to see what my 27th year brings.

    Also, look what our Honduran family did for me:

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *